UK Politics

The “nothing has changed” reshuffle

BY Olivia Utley | OliviaBUtley   /  8 January 2018

  1. Northern Ireland secretary James Brokenshire resigns due to ill health
  2. David Lidington replaces Damian Green as Cabinet Office minister
  3. Brandon Lewis is new Tory party chairman following confusion over Chris Grayling‘s reported appointment (he was chairman for 20 minutes). Sir Patrick McLoughlin has resigned after serving 8 years in the Cabinet
  4. James Cleverly  new deputy chair
  5. Philip Hammond staying put
  6. Boris Johnson staying put
  7. David Davis staying put (and getting a new junior minister at DexEU)
  8. Amber Rudd staying put
  9. Sajid Javid has been made ‘Secretary of state for Housing’, in addition to his DCLG portfolio
  10. Chris Skidmore has left his post as minister for the constitution. He is now Conservative vice chairman for policy
  11. Andrew Jones has left his post as a Treasury minister. He is now Conservative vice chairman for business engagement
  12. Marcus Jones has left his post as communities minister. He is now Conservative vice chairman for local government
  13. Jo Johnson has moved from universities to transport
  14. Sam Gyimah is now universities minister
  15. Mark Garnier has lost his job as trade minister
  16. Alok Sharma has moved from housing to employment
  17. Dominic Raab has replaced him as housing minister
  18. Rory Stewart has replaced Dominic Raab as justice minister

We’ll update the (paltry) news as it comes in. But for now, let’s take a moment to think about the poor journalists who have spent the whole day standing in Downing St in freezing conditions… and have been rewarded with one Cabinet change and one acronym change.