The decision to award all four nominated artists for this year’s Turner Prize was made not by the judges, as was the case with the Booker Prize that was divvied up between Bernardine Evaristo and Margaret Atwood, but by the artists themselves. It was a “collective statement,” they said this week on going up on stage together to receive the prize.

They elaborated as follows. The quartet believed that their artistic practices were “incompatible with the competition format, whose tendency is to divide and to individualise”.